Tonight sees the final date of a sold-out European tour by Pixies at London’s Hammersmith Apollo. During the tour they’ve slotted in some new songs such as recent single Bagboy (and a cover of The Fall’s New Big Prinz) into sets still dominated by the sort of back catalogue that ensures that selling out venues like Hammersmith and the Barrowlands in minutes is a formality.

Talking last week in NME, Black Francis revealed that he would like what he terms ‘Phase 2’ of the band – with new bassist Kim Shattuck – to experience the same highs as when they first met with success in Britain and parts of Europe in the 1980s: ‘People were throwing themselves at the stage. It was like a religious revival or something. I don’t know if I’ll ever experience something like that again but I always hope that can happen again.’

I can’t claim that my own reaction to the band was quite that intense when I first saw them myself in the spring of 1989 at Glasgow Uni’s Queen Margaret Union although I did pogo around to Another Girl, Another Planet by The Only Ones before they took to the stage – well I had been on a bit of a Byres Road pub crawl beforehand – and did go just a little wild the moment Pixies appeared from the wings.

This was a definite highlight that night:

 
And now for another Gigantic, one that features in the latest edition of the Late Night Tales series of compilation CDs, which this time round is selected and sequenced by British musician, DJ and producer Simon Green, aka Bonobo.

This Gigantic, written and performed by Eddi Front, is sparse and solemn, an ethereal piano accompanying Eddi’s sweet but just a little husky vocals. I like the fact that the song is slightly eerie but also somehow soothing.

 
The track first appeared last year on her self-titled debut EP on Best Fit
Recordings, which helped her carve out something of a name for herself and led to her being compared with everyone from Lana Del Rey to Lucinda Williams.

I see her as being located somewhere between Cat Power and Julee Cruise myself, although for the latter’s influence you should seek out Texas, another of her songs from her EP.

An album should be out early in the New Year.

For more on Eddi Front:

Facebook
Soundcloud
Tumblr
Twitter

