This upcoming Saturday is Record Store Day, when I like to set my alarm for an almost unfeasibly early, pre-dawn rise that guarantees me first dibs or almost first dibs on whatever one-off limited edition vinyl rarities are on offer. Last year saw me at least treble my money on the bulk of my purchases when I put everything I’d bought up for auction immediately on eBay and if you’re looking to make a fast buck yourself, I’d recommend you do the same this time round.

Only joking.

I just doubled my money on the most of the records.

No seriously, up till now I haven’t as yet visited what I tend to call a record shop specifically on this particular designated date. Cliché though it may be, every day should be record store day, although if an official RSD does help get punters to pack into independent record shops to buy vinyl rather than giving their moolah to the likes of Amazon, then it gets the thumbs up from me.

This year, though, there is something up for grabs that I really do fancy snapping up ASAP, not a record but Simon Goddard’s latest book Simply Thrilled: The Preposterous Story Of Postcard Records, which will be available exclusively in Scotland a week earlier than anywhere else. Not only that, but if you’re one of the first 500 to buy a copy over the counter on Saturday, you’ll receive a free A3-sized ‘Funky Glasgow Then’ print which is an illustrated map of the city during the Postcard-era.

According to Simon Goddard: ‘The print is suitable for flattening and framing… or equally suitable for wandering around Glasgow’s West End getting lost looking for what was once The Spaghetti Factory’.

That’ll be a Scottish restaurant called Stravaigin folks, if you’re not one of the lucky 500.

Simply Thrilled JAMC Barbed Wire Kisses

Also out on Saturday is Zoë Howe’s Barbed Wire Kisses – The Jesus And Mary Chain Story, which I’m also rather keen to get my mitts on, although sadly no ‘Not Entirely Funky East Kilbride Then’ map is available with information on that town’s musical landmarks such as The Olympia (which resembled a Neds’ convention at weekends but where Orange Juice once played a show and is now a Sainsbury’s), Rockabill Records and Impulse*, where the young Aztec Camera were regular customers (both of those shops have long since bitten the dust too) and the Bonnie Prince Charlie (which once hosted a weekly reggae night in the function room upstairs).

The Jesus and Mary Chain have by coincidence just reformed and announced some live dates. Sometimes they love Rock’n’Roll, on this occasion, though, they hate it:

 
And finally, a mention for an exhibition at Glasgow’s Voidoid Archive that I’m hoping to get along to later this week. Mutant Moments and Memorabilia includes work by former Jesus and Mary Chain bassist Douglas Hart, photographer Ryan S. McGill and Gerard Malanga.

Malanga is famous for many things but I’ll always associate him primarily as the guy who danced with Edie Sedgwick while brandishing a whip as part of Andy Warhol’s Exploding Plastic Inevitable show that featured The Velvet Underground, a band who were, of course, a mammoth influence and inspiration for The Jesus and Mary Chain and, for that matter, Alan Horne and Postcard Records.

For more information:

Simon Goddard
Postcard (on this here blog)
The Jesus and Mary Chain
Zoë Howe
Zoë Howe: Interview with Douglas Hart
Mutant Moments and Memorabilia

* I still have very fond memories of the ‘Punk & New Wave’ box on the counter of Impulse as well as their ‘lucky bags’ of singles which were usually dominated by some godawful disco dross, unlistenable AOR and unspeakably bland MOR but which also always seemed to include at least one Spizzenergi or Swell Maps type punky gem too. Or maybe I was actually just lucky.

